Literary Magazines by Circulation Rate

Circ. rate based on Writer’s Market 2017

Lit mag Twitter followers Twitter Handle Circulation Rate avante-garde?
Narrative 23,900 NarrativeMag 210,000
Paris Review 975,500 parisreview 24,000
Zoetrope: All Story 6,082 Zoetrope_Mag 20,000
Boulevard 5,197 BoulevardLitMag 11,000
Threepenny Review 395 3pennyreview 9,000
Yale Review 3,191 YaleReview 7,000
Missouri Review 39,800 Missouri_Review 6,500
Kenyon Review 50,600 kenyonreview 6,000
Indiana Review 36,900 IndianaReview 5,000
New Letters 1,398 new_letters 5,000
Virginia Quarterly Review 25,100 VQR 4,000
Fiction 635 fictionmag 4,000
Iowa Review 40,300 IowaReview 3,500
Georgia Review 25,800 GeorgiaReview 3,500
Gulf Coast 24,200 Gulf_Coast 3,000
Agni 11,800 AGNIMagazine 3,000
Brick 8,627 BrickMAG 3,000
Southern Review 28,400 southern_review 2,900
Alaska Quarterly Review 2,700
American Short Fiction 12,000 asfmag 2,500
ZYZZYVA 6,734 zyzzyvamag 2,500
Sewanee Review 2,714 sewaneereview 2,200
New England Review 14,500 NERweb 2,000
Gettysburg Review 1,437 GburgReview 2,000
Mississippi Review 7,569 MissReviewMag 1,500
Mid American Review 7,303 MidAm_Review 1,500
New Orleans Review 3,729 NOReview 1,500
Willow Springs 8,628 WillowSprings 1,200
Massachusetts Review 2,807 MassReview 1,200
Colorado Review 18,500 Colorado_Review 1,000
Michigan Quarterly Review 4,810 mqr_tweets 1,000
Western Humanities Review 312 WH_Review 1,000
Epoch 1,000
North Carolina Literary Review 141 NCLitReview 750
December 1,453 december_mag 500
McSweeney’s 272,200 mcsweeneys
Graywolf Press 270,200 GraywolfPress
Electric Literature 260,500 ElectricLit
Granta 213,200 GrantaMag
Pen America 127,100 PENamerica
n+1 95,300 nplusonemag
Ploughshares 66,700 pshares
Baffler, The 55,600 thebafflermag
Bomb 54,400 BOMBmagazine
Boston Review 42,900 bostonreview
Catapult 36,300 CatapultStory
One Story 33,800 onestorymag
Literary Review 32,100 Lit_Review
A Public Space 28,900 APublicSpace
Prairie Schooner 26,000 TheSchooner
Oxford American 25,600 oxfordamerican
Akashic Books 23,900 AkashicBooks
Ninth Letter 23,300 ninthletter
Orion 22,700 Orion_Magazine
Black Warrior Review 21,100 BlackWarriorRev
World Literature Today 17,900 worldlittoday
TriQuarterly 17,100 TriQuarterlyMag
Barrelhouse 16,800 barrelhouse
Crazyhorse 16,800 CrazyhorseLitJo
Bellevue Literary Review 16,400 BLReview
The Rupture 15,200 TheRuptureMag
American Scholar 15,100 TheAmScho
Anomalous 15,100 ANMLY_LIT
Pinch 14,800 pinchjournal
Smoke Long Quarterly 14,800 smokelong
Paper Darts 14,200 PaperDarts
Wigleaf 14,100 Wigleaf
Brooklyn Rail 13,700 TheBrooklynRail
Redivider 13,600 redividermag
New Delta Review 13,300 ndrmag
Sun 12,600 TheSunMagazine
New Ohio Review 12,500 NewOhioReview
Dalkey Archive Press 12,300 dalkey_archive
Cincinnati Review 12,200 CincinnReview
Third Coast 11,800 thirdcoastmag
Blue Mesa Review 11,100 bluemesareview
Sonora Review 10,900 sonorareview
Minnesota Review 10,100 MinnesotaReview
Bat City 9,423 BatCityReview
Yemassee 9,246 YemasseeJournal
Normal School 9,037 thenormalschool
Salt Hill 8,883 salthilljournal
Dossier Journal 8,813 dossierjournal
Slice 8,713 SliceMagazine
Cutbank 8,695 cutbankonline
The Journal 8,645 OSUtheJOURNAL
Four Way Books 8,612 FourWayBooks
Florida Review 8,502 TheFLReview
Ecotone Magazine 8,048 EcotoneMagazine
Malahat Review 7,761 malahatreview
Grist 7,698 GristJournal
Memorious 7,504 memoriousmag
Little Fiction 6,750 Little_Fiction
Baltimore Review 6,539 baltimoreeditor
Joyland 6,463 joylandmagazine
Midwestern Gothic 6,403 MWGothic
Notre Dame Review 6,215 NotreDameReview
Arts & Letters 6,050 ArtsLettersGC
Crab Creek Review 5,975 crabcreekrev
Harvard Review 5,540 Harvard_Review
Fourteen Hills 5,458 14Hills
Hunger Mountain 5,415 HungerMtn
River Styx 5,377 RiverStyxMag
Post Road 5,339 Post_Road
Black Lawrence Press 4,926 BlackLawrence
Blue Earth Review 4,893 blueearthreview
Potomac Review 4,724 PotomacReview
Transition 4,708 Transition_Mag
Common, The 4,656 commonmag
Ruminate 4,580 RuminateMag
Litmag 4,226 LitMagPress
Copper Nickel 4,076 coppernickel
Press 53 4,002 Press53
Witness 3,993 witnessmag
Pegasus Books 3,842 Pegasus_Books
Epiphany 3,584 epiphanylit
Kweli Journal 3,542 kwelijournal
Sixfold 3,014 SixfoldJournal
Pleiades 2,991 pleiadesmag
Cleaver 2,887 cleavermagazine
Bennington Review 2,787 BennReview
Dogwood 2,781 Dogwoodlit
Chattahoochee Review 2,752 ChattahoocheeRv
Antioch Review 2,647 AntiochReview
Little Star 2,646 littlestarmag
Hudson Review 2,613 TheHudsonReview
Pulp Literature 2,613 pulpliterature x
At Length 2,575 atlengthmag
Water-Stone Review 2,384 WSRLitJournal
Chicago Review 2,378 chireview
Juked 2,265 JukedMagazine
Fjords 2,164 FjordsReview
Prime Number Magazine 1,980 PrimeNumberMag
Puerto del Sol 1,916 puertomag
Noon 1,828 NOONAnnual
Outpost 19 1,789 outpost19
Literal Latte 1,750 LiteralLatte
Asian American Literary Review 1,743 TheAALR
Zone 3 1,577 zone3press
Idaho Review 1,511 IdahoReview
Southampton Review 1,484 TSRLitMag
Reservoir Journal 1,473 reservoirlit
Calyx 1,305 calyxpress
failbetter.com 1,271 failbettercom
New York Tyrant 1,265 NewYorkTyrant
Quiddity 1,180 QuiddityLit
Mud City 1,161
Green Mountains Review 1,151 GreenMtnsReview
West Branch 1,058 WestBranchMag
Stillhouse Press 1,055 StillhousePress
Catamaran 1,001 CatamaranLit
Consequence Magazine 928 CONSEQUENCEM
Moon City 882 MoonCityReview
Shenandoah 831 ShenandoahWLU
Fiction International 748 FictIntl
Raritan 745 RaritanQR
Cimarron Review 727 cimarronreview
Chariton Review 720 tsupress
Texas Review Press 716 txreviewpress
Southwest Review 662 SouthwestReview
Provincetown Arts 609 ProvincetownArt
Elm Leaves/ELJ 592 ELJ_journal
Healing Muse 576 TheHealingMuse
Hotel Amerika 570 HotelAmerika
Brooklyn Review 557 bk_review
Salmagundi 538 SalmagundiMag
Chautauqua 495 chautauqualit
Broadkill Review 473 BroadkillR
BkMk Press 424 BkMkUMKC
Pembroke Magazine 410 Pmlitmag
Mythium 394 MythiumLitMag
Five Points 352 5ptsmag
Beloit Fiction 345 bfictionjournal
Jabberwock Review 311 jabberwockrev
Manoa 307 manoajournal
Berkeley Fiction Review 299 BerkeleyFiction
New Madrid 296 NewMadridLit
Obsidian 240 OBSIDIAN_MAG
Sou’wester 239 SouwesterLit
Chicago Quarterly 210 ChicagoQReview
StoryQuarterly 195 StoryQuarterly
Hopkins Review 194 Hopkins_Review
Natural Bridge 135 NatBridgeLit
Seneca Review 120 reviewseneca
Glossolalia 108
Vassar Review 94 VassarReview
J Journal 92 JJournalNYC
Black Renaissance Noire 73 nyubrn
Per Contra 28 percontra
Blackbird 23 VCUBlackbird

Leave a Reply